ICOM Belgium Flanders – EN

"A museum is a non-profit, permanent institution in the service of society and its development, open to the public, which acquires, conserves, researches, communicates and exhibits the tangible and intangible heritage of humanity and its environment for the purposes of education, study and enjoyment."

ICOM Belgium
Flanders

ICOM Belgium Flanders represents museums and museum professionals who subscribe to the above-mentioned definition of museums and adopt the ICOM Code of Ethics. The organization is made up of a network of large and smaller museums, based in Flanders and Brussels. ICOM Belgium Flanders brings together museums and museum professionals and serves as ICOM representative and contact for all the museums in Flanders and Brussels.

Both regular and board members represent the organisation in numerous ICOM Committees and in the European museum platform NEMO (Network of European Museum Organisations). ICOM Belgium Flanders is also co-organizer of the prestigious EMYA-award (European Museum of the Year). The organization is one of the main participants of the OCE meetings (Overleg Cultureel Erfgoed) and other cultural networking platforms in Flanders.

ICOM Belgium Flanders strives to be a knowledge hub and think tank for useful and new information on museum- and heritage-related issues. The organization informs her members on new development and activities through numerous digital media. Visits behind the scenes of innovative museums inspire other professionals in the field as well as museum guides. ICOM Belgium Flanders organises conferences and so-called 'Museum Policy Talks', focussed on current themes, e.g. museum catering, public participation and intangible heritage, which function as network opportunities and think tanks.

Reflection, interaction, team spirit and inspiration, those are the focus points of ICOM Belgium Flanders, as the means to reinforce and connect the museum professionals in Flanders.

ICOM Belgium Flanders – FR

"Un musée est une institution permanente sans but lucratif au service de la société et de son développement ouvert au public, qui acquiert, conserve, étudie, expose et transmet le patrimoine matériel et immatériel de l’humanité et de son environnement à des fins d'études, d'éducation et de délectation."

ICOM Belgium
Flanders

ICOM Belgium Flanders réunit les musées et les collaborateurs de musées qui, avec passion et expertise souscrivent à la définition du musée ci-dessus citée. Tant les grands que ceux de moindre ampleur, les reconnus comme les non-reconnus, tous les musées situés en Flandre et à Bruxelles peuvent y adhérer en qualité de membres. En sa qualité d’association réunissant des membres, ICOM Belgium Flanders est au service des musées, de leurs collaborateurs et des autres professionnels du patrimoine. L’association fonctionne comme antenne-ICOM et comme point d’informations pour les musées en Flandre et à Bruxelles. ICOM Belgium Flanders est le partenaire reconnu de ICOM et se charge des adhésions sur la Flandre et Bruxelles.

Les membres et les membres administrateurs représentent l’association auprès des différents comités internes et internationaux d’ICOM ainsi qu’auprès de la plate-forme européenne des musées NEMO (Network of European Museum Organisations). D’autre part, ICOM Belgium Flanders est l’un des organisateurs du prestigieux prix EMYA (European Museum of the Year) et possède un droit de vote d’importance auprès du ‘Cultureel Erfgoedoverleg’, le ‘Museumoverleg’, différentes structures de réflexions thématiques et auprès du OCE (Overleg Cultureel Erfgoed) – le défenseur par excellence des intérêts du patrimoine culturel au niveau de la Région flamande

L’association est un centre d’informations et d’échange au niveau muséal. Via divers canaux numériques, elle informe les professionnels des musées quant au paysage régional et international. Des réunions et journées de travail organisées auprès des musées qui tentent de nouveaux formats ou qui se révèlent comme des exemples innovateurs et sources d’inspiration sont toujours des invitations importantes tant pour les collaborateurs de musées que pour les professionnels indépendants du secteur Patrimoine, les guides de musées et de villes. Les journées d’études et des Museum Policy Talks sur des thèmes pertinents tels le catering, la participation du public, la muséologie et le patrimoine immatériel dans les musées attirent à chaque fois un nouveau public spécialisé et fonctionne comme réservoir d’idée muséologique.

La réflexion, les échanges fructueux, l’esprit d’équipe et l’inspiration. C’est ce que ICOM Belgium Flanders se veut d’offrir au monde des musées en Flandre et Bruxelles, avec pour but à chaque fois d’obtenir un paysage muséal plus fort et un réseau professionnel uni.